Hello, World!

Hi there!

My name is Teena, and this is my first day on a new low carb diet.  I actually tried this diet my freshman year of college, amongst other wacky things.  I failed wildly- mostly because my perception of “healthy” was very, very wrong.  Two Jamba Juices a day?  Wrong.  A donut treat for eating “good” or “working out”?  Wrong.  I was all screwed up.  Limiting fast food to twice a week was not exactly healthy but definitely a step in the right direction.

Although my eating habits have changed dramatically for the better, 4 years out of college and I’m still struggling with my weight.   My last birthday in September, I felt a little chubby but fairly happy at 126 lbs (I’m only 5’1″).  To my surprise, after my European vacation in Barcelona, Paris and Rome, I weighed in at 124 lbs!  I actually lost weight on vacation!  Strange because I ate with absolutely no limitations.

Well, 6 months later after moving in with my wonderful boyfriend, I am 10 lbs heavier.  This is so disappointing because my New Year’s resolution to be more active and  regularly exercise has not paid off.  On January 2, 2011, I signed up for the gym and have spent at least 4-5 days a week at the gym, working out for at least 1.5 hours doing cardio for 30-40 minutes and then an hour long class like bodypump, bodycombat or bodyjam.  What’s more disheartening is that I feel like I have never eaten more healthy in my whole life!  What’s wrong?

A few months ago, my coworker mentioned that her husband lost 15 lbs in one month just by low carbing it, no exercise at all.  I continued working out at the gym and eating healthy, even tracking my calories, but the scale only budged a little.  I’m ready for something new- a new low carb lifestyle- at least until Cancun in July or my birthday in September.

3 Comments to “Hello, World!”

  1. Hey Teena, I had a very similar experience as you! When I was dating my now fiancee, I gained 10 pounds, and once I moved in, we made a change! We are low carb/Paleoish now, I lost all the weight in a few months, and have kept it off for over 2 years now, plus losing even more. It has to be a lifestyle though, get your boyfriend in on it too. It isn’t just about weight either, the energy boost you get when not eating crappy processed foods, sugar and grain is amazing! Check out the recommended reading on my blog, and I have a lot of recipes that are easy and delicious! Good luck!

  2. Hi Amy! Thanks so much for reaching out to me. It is very encouraging to hear your success story! I’m curious about your carb intake after two years of low carb/paleo. Are you still counting carbs at this point? I know it’s different for everyone, but I was just wondering how much is your highest carb intake while still staying low carb? I’m not sure how much or little carbs I should be eating in the Ongoing Weight Loss phase since Atkins suggested skipping the Induction phase…

  3. I honestly don’t actually count carbs. I just eat lots of natural fat, protein, and vegetables. If you just stick to real food, and stay away from sugar, grains, and wheat you shouldn’t have a problem. I honestly think the carb level is different for everyone too, just depending how much your blood sugar spikes when you eat carbs. Basically a normal day for me would be 2 slices of nitrate free bacon, and 2 eggs cooked in the bacon fat, a cup of coffee with heavy cream, a big salad with an olive oil based dressing and chicken or some kind protein for lunch, and then for dinner I have a glass of wine along with whatever recipe I make, often a stew with vegetables, or a steak served with vegetables cooked in butter or coconut oil. When you are eating like that, you won’t even want a snack! You can see on my blog exactly what I have for dinner actually! If you are eating lots of cheese and nuts and not losing weight, limit those and use sparingly. Let me know how it goes and if I can provide any other advice. Oh, and here is a link you can check out for more specific carb limits, but like I said, I think it really varies, you have to decide what is too much for you – if you aren’t losing weight or are gaining weight, then whatever you are having is too much. – http://www.marksdailyapple.com/the-primal-carbohydrate-continuum/

Leave a comment